Awards and Medals

The Geochemistry Group offers a number of awards and medals for early career researchers (ECRs). Below we outline each opportunity, and the frequency which they are considered. Application forms are available below. Contact Wes Fraser ( if you have any queries.

Early Career Researcher Prominent Lecture Series

Early in your career it can sometimes be difficult to get the exposure for you and your research necessary to make the next big step in academia. We seek to assist this process by awarding one individual each year funding to deliver a tour of Great Britain and Ireland, presenting in a number prestigious institutions around GB/Ireland. You must currently hold a Ph.D and be registered as working at an institution within GB/Ireland.

The 2022 winner was Dr. Jacqueline Campbell, a Schmidt Science Fellow at the University of Oxford, working on ocean acidification. If you are interesting in hosting Jacqueline to learn more about life on Mars and/or a career in science, you can reach out to @GeochemGroup or contact her directly.

There is one deadline for the ECR prominent lecture series each year: January 15th. Download the application form here.

Other recent awardees include Dr Kate Kiseeva (2016 – Oxford, now at UCC), Dr David Wilson (2017 – Imperial, now at UCL), Dr Rosalie Tostevin (2018 – Oxford, now at University of Cape Town), Dr Rich Taylor (2019 – Cambridge, now at Zeiss), Dr Emily Stevenson (2020 – Cambridge), Dr Martin Mangler (2021 – Durham).

Geochemistry Group Postdoctoral Medal

The GG Medal is awarded each year to a postdoctoral researcher employed on a temporary contract at an institution in GB/Ireland who has published outstanding research in a peer-reviewed journal within the field of geochemistry. The 2022 awardee was Dr. Arola Moreras Marti for her paper entitled: “Quadruple sulfur isotope biosignatures from terrestrial Mars analogue systems” in GCA.

There is one deadline for the GG Medal each year: January 15th. Download the application form here.

Other recent awardees include Dr Myriam Lambelet (2016 – Imperial), Dr Alex McCoy-West (2018 – Durham), Dr Nikitha Saji (2019 – Cardiff), Dr Chris Standish (2020 – Southampton) and Dr Matthew Warke (2021- St. Andrews).

%d bloggers like this: