Influence of Indian Summer Monsoon on Deglaciation c.130,000 years ago.

By Katrina Nilsson-Kerr Understanding of how the monsoon systems of Asia, the East Asian Monsoon and Indian Monsoon, responded to past changes in climate has undergone debate within the palaeoclimate community due to gaps in data at both the temporal and spatial scale ( Assumptions have been made to infer both of these monsoonal systemsContinue reading “Influence of Indian Summer Monsoon on Deglaciation c.130,000 years ago.”

The Present is the Key to the Past

Trace element and isotope proxies in paleoceanography: A synthesis workshop 3 – 5 December 2018, Aix-Marseille, France Report by Susan Little At a workshop in December, scientists from 11 countries and 4 continents converged on Chateauneuf de Rouge, Southern France. With expertise spanning modern and paleoceanography, we gathered to talk biology, ocean circulation, particle fluxes,Continue reading “The Present is the Key to the Past”

Meet the committee

The current Geochemistry Group committee are: Officers Chair: Dr Christopher Pearce. Senior Research Scientist, National Oceanography Centre, Southampton. Secretary: Dr Marc-Alban Millet. Lecturer in isotope geochemistry, Cardiff University, Cardiff. Treasurer: Dr Sam Hammond. Geochemistry project officer, The Open University, Milton Keynes. Communications: Dr Wesley Fraser. Reader in physical geography, Oxford Brookes University, Oxford. Ordinary membersContinue reading “Meet the committee”

Goldschmidt 2018, Boston.  by David van Acken. The 28th Annual Goldschmidt Conference was held at the Hynes Conference Center in Boston, MA, from August 12th to 17th 2018, assembling around 3500 geochemists from all over the world. With the usual wide spread of topics from the origins of the solar system via biogeochemistry to theContinue reading

2018 Geochemistry Group Postdoctoral Awards Announced

by Susan H. Little Winning Geochemists! For the third year in a row, the Geochemistry Group is thrilled to award two Postdoctoral Prizes, recognizing the outstanding work being carried out by UK-based early career researchers. We are delighted to announce that the 2018 winners are: Postdoctoral Medal: Alex J. McCoy-West ECR Prominent Lecturer: Rosalie TostevinContinue reading “2018 Geochemistry Group Postdoctoral Awards Announced”

#GGRiP2018 starts with a Bang, a Pop, and a Dance…

by Wesley T Fraser The Geochemistry Group annual Research in Progress meeting got off to a fantastic start with a sell-out public lecture delivered by Dr James Rae at the Byre Theatre on Monday evening. James told us all about global climate change, with an explosive introduction to the burning of fossil fuels, a balloon-basedContinue reading “#GGRiP2018 starts with a Bang, a Pop, and a Dance…”

ChAOS in the Arctic.

by Christian März The NERC-funded project “The Changing Arctic Ocean Seafloor” (ChAOS) has been going for a year now, and it is one of the most exciting interdisciplinary projects I have ever been a part of! ChAOS will quantify the effect of changing sea ice cover on organic matter quality, benthic biodiversity, biological transformations ofContinue reading “ChAOS in the Arctic.”

Green Prince campaigns for ‘Blue Economy’

by Susan H. Little The Grantham Institute Annual Lecture 2018 His Serene Highness Prince Albert II of Monaco 1 March 2018 In 2017, the BBC’s Blue Planet II plunged viewers to new, murky depths. Breaking hearts with stories of plastic waste and baby pilot whales, it swept to the National Television Awards Special Impact Award.Continue reading “Green Prince campaigns for ‘Blue Economy’”

Meet the committee

The Geochemistry Group committee are: Dr Jason Harvey (Chair): Lecturer, University of Leeds Dr Christopher Pearce (Secretary): Senior Marine Geoscientist, National Oceanography Centre, Southampton Dr Sam Hammond (Treasurer): Project Officer, The Open University Dr Wes Fraser (Communications officer): Senior Lecturer, Oxford Brookes University Ordinary members: Dr Pallavi Anand: Lecturer, The Open University Dr Christian März:Continue reading “Meet the committee”